Apple Cinnamon Cottage Whole Wheat Pancakes

Standard
Apple Cinnamon Cottage Whole Wheat Pancakes

Did I mention that I currently have eight college students chilling out for Spring break? I love having a houseful.  It’s fun and  anytime any of my kids and their friends choose to hang out at our house, I count it a blessing! I know that time is fleeting.  But having house guests who can eat a lot means preparing mass quantities of food.  This morning after I got some work done on the computer and had a cup of coffee I braced myself to make a hearty breakfast with things I had around the house.  I decided to make pancakes with lots of delicious, healthy, high fiber options packed in.  Pancakes are very forgiving.  You can add all kinds of ingredients and still have it turn out great!

Measure out dry ingredients in a batter bowl

Add Cottage cheese, buttermilk, eggs to the dry ingredients

Pancake batter should be slightly foamy and well incorporated

Sprinkle apples and cinnamon over batter and wait for it to bubble up

Flip to cook the other side

Serve with a little sprinkled powdered sugar or some chocolate hazelnut spread for a little added decadence!

Here’s the recipe:

Apple Cinnamon  Cottage Whole Wheat Pancakes

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup wheat bran

3 cups low-fat buttermilk

2 eggs

1/2 cup cottage cheese

1 tsp kosher salt

2 tablespoon sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

2 Granny Smith or Gala apples peeled and chopped

2 tsp Cinnamon

oil for the griddle

Mix chopped apples and Cinnamon in a bowl and set aside.  Measure out all the dry ingredients in a batter bowl.  Add buttermilk, eggs and cottage cheese and mix to get all lumps out.  Heat a cast iron griddle or a non-stick griddle (or a frying pan) over medium heat.  Brush a little oil on the pan.  Pour 1/3 cup batter on the heated pan and spread Cinnamon coated apples evenly over the batter.  When the batter bubbles, flip over pancake and cook 50 seconds and serve warm.  You can top with powdered sugar, maple syrup or chocolate hazelnut spread (Nutella) – the current favorite at this house.  Makes about 12-13  four inch pancakes.

2 responses »

  1. I’ll be trying this recipe this weekend when I have the grandkids – always looking for yummy AND healthy! One question – why do you use kosher salt? Thanks… love your recipes!

    • Thanks Nancy. I use Kosher salt because of the coarse granules which makes it easier to pinch in amounts and the taste is a little less intense and more of a “purer” or “cleaner” salty taste. Regular table salt is very finely ground and if you use it any of the recipes asking for Kosher salt you have to use about half the amount since it is more salty (because of it’s density). Chemically speaking, (this is the dietitian in me talking) Sea salt, Kosher salt or table salt are all Sodium Chloride. I just find that I use less Sodium overall when I use Kosher salt. Hope that answers your question! Please tell me how your pancakes turn out, I’ll be so excited to hear!!

Leave a comment