Very Blueberry Muffins

Standard
Very Blueberry Muffins

I love fresh fruits of any kind.  Especially berries.  I had never had any type of berries until I moved to the States and lived on a farm with my American family.  Every summer I helped to pick raspberries, marionberries and blueberries.  I got scratched a lot in the middle of the bushes.  The thorny kinds had the best yields.  That’s when I learned that freshly picked berries warmed by the sun are a special treat.  I ate as many as I picked!!   I keep meaning to put in a berry patch in my yard but they never seem to fit into my landscaping plans.  So, I’m always on the look out for fresh berries at the grocery store.  This week there were entire flats of blueberries available for $4 at this local store I like to go to that sells unusual combination of things.  I had to buy them up.  I ended up making blueberry compotes, chutneys, breads, pancakes ….and muffins.  These muffins were everything a muffin should be and unlike the Seinfeld episode, I ate the whole thing with my coffee and not just the muffin tops!

Mash about 3/4 cup of the blueberries with a fork

Mix in the smashed blueberries to the batter, alternating wet and dry ingredients as the batter is mixed

Stir in the remaining whole blueberries by hand

LIne muffin cups with liners and scoop out batter with an ice cream scoop

Sprinkle top with a little raw sugar before baking

Bake for about 22-25 minutes at 375 degrees.

Very Blueberry Muffins

1 stick of unsalted butter at room temperature

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups flour

2 1/2 cups fresh blueberries

1/2 cup milk

raw cane sugar for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 375°.  Line muffin pans with paper liners.  Using an electric mixer cream the butter and the sugar until creamy.  Add in the eggs and the vanilla and continue mixing.  In a separate bowl smash 1 cup of the blueberries with a fork and add to the batter and mix.  In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking powder, salt until blended and with the mixer running at low speed add half the flour mixture to the batter and half of the milk and blend.  Add remaining flour and milk.  Fold in the remaining blueberries by hand.  Using an ice cream scoop, fill the muffin cups 3/4 full and sprinkle a little of the raw can sugar on top of each muffin.  Bake for 22-25 minutes until golden brown.  Cool on a wire cooling rack before serving.

Adapted from a Gale Gand recipe published in 1999

28 responses »

  1. I agree with Emmy! This is the first blueberry muffin recipe that I have seen that has smashed blueberries and whole blueberries! What a brilliant idea. Love it!

    They look scrumptious 🙂

  2. Your muffins look delicious! I always steal parts of my toddler’s muffin tops. I think he is too young to care!… Yes, there is ‘bad-mom’ guilt. I am in full-on blueberry mode myself… tis the season!

  3. I like the more-blueberries approach! I never really understood the allure of blueberries until I moved to the Northwest–I had never had a good one! Now I get it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

