Thai style beef with basil and death to snails…

Standard
Thai style beef with basil and death to snails…

I really, really enjoy the flavor of Thai Basil.  It’s such a fresh tasting herb with a slight almost licorice kind of flavor to it.  I try to grow it every summer along with a wide variety of other basil plants.  Last year, I had a huge snail problem in my garden and they began to feast on my Thai Basil before I could. It made me so mad.  I tried all kinds of tricks without having to use harsh chemicals.  Like beer.  Yes, beer.  I heard that snails were attracted to beer.   According to a friend of mine, if you put some beer in a shallow pan near plants you want snails to avoid, they climb into the beer and drown.  So, I went to the store, bought some really cheap beer in several 6-packs because I wanted to really drown the suckers.  I had pie pans all over my yard with beer in them.  I found a few drunken snails but not the horde that I was expecting.  My friend suggested that my beer was too cheap.  Seriously?  They were expecting micro brewed ale? I was not about to throw a Keg party for the snails.  I tried “organic” snail bait and ground glass, didn’t work.  This year, I’m planting basil in flower pots all over my patio.  Maybe that will work.  Snails are gross, but this recipe rocks.  Hey, if you have any snail genocide ideas, please let me know. …

Add soy sauce and corn starch to beef and mix well

Had to share the directions on the back of the noodle package. LOVE IT!

Thai Basil

Stir fry beef with garlic and ginger

When meat is no longer pink, add in onion, red pepper, sweet soy sauce, fish sauce, sambal olek and coconut milk

Add Thai Basil after heat is turned off

Thai style beef with basil!

Thai Style Beef with Basil

1/2 pound beef, thinly sliced ( I used chuck  roast)

2 tsp corn starch

2 tsp soy sauce

1 big bunch of Thai basil

2 tbsp sweet soy sauce

1 inch piece of ginger, minced

5 whole garlic cloves, minced

Red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

1/3 cup coconut milk

3 tbsp oil

1 1/2  tsp sambal olek

2 tsp fish sauce

Vegetarian thin noodles or you can use glass noodles

Thinly slice some beef.  Half frozen beef is great because then you can really slice it thin.  Mix beef with soy sauce and corn starch and set aside.  In a wok or large skillet heat the oil.  Add garlic and ginger and then add the beef.  Stir fry for 2 minutes or so until meat is no longer pink.  Add bell pepper and onion and continue to stir fry for 2-3 minutes.  Add in sambal olek, sweet soy sauce, fish sauce and 1/3 cup  coconut milk.  The sauce should be thickening up within a minute or two.  Take off heat and add in Thai Basil.  Stir to mix in and wilt all the basil.  Serve over noodles or with some brown rice!

10 responses »

    • I don’t have a watering system set up for the hanging baskets (hand watering will not work for the long run) so I’m going with the pots on the ground and I’ll try the copper, see if that zaps the snails.

  1. This looks so good! I bet is tastes amazing, certainly worth protecting your Thai basil for.

    As I was reading, I was just thinking that maybe you need a dry-hopped small-batch microbrew too! Funny that your friend and me were on the same wavelength.

    Or maybe, following Sybaritica’s suggestion, you could harvest and eat them. If I remember correctly, you have to starve them so they purge all their grit and nasty stuff before yanking them out of their shells and lopping off their faces . . . 😉

    That might be a little too much even for me. Go copper wiring!

    • You are hilarious. I am not lopping off any faces. Soft shell crab with goggles…maybe. Snails….NO! yeah copper wiring sounds awesome, so does a blow torch….I could kill snails and make creme brûlée later!

  2. Get some copper strips to wrap around your pot (if they are in pots). works a treat! we used to have an allotment and all the old timers working their plots eschewed the beer thing in favour of good old-fashioned mild electrocution! It doesn’t kill them, just annoys the heck out of them and they go and bother some other garden 😀

Leave a Reply

