The Great Leftover Challenge

Standard

Remember the movie “field of dreams” and phrase “if you build it, they will come”?  Our house is kind of like that only its “if you cook it, they will come”.  Even now that we’re technically empty nesters, it is amazing how much volume of food is produced from my kitchen.  I try to be as resourceful as possible and judge how much to cook to minimize leftovers but they still happen and sometimes they are thrust upon you!  Earlier this week I inherited 10 baked potatoes.  I teach a women’s bible study on Tuesdays and women attend from all different places (and countries) and since it starts at 6 p.m. and many of us are coming straight from work, the women take turns in groups to bring dinner.  Since there over 50 of us, nobody has dinner responsibilities more than once.  We end up enjoying food from  different parts of the world.   It’s a great way to feed our bodies and minds!  This Tuesday some of the ladies created a baked potato bar and quite a few foil wrapped baked potatoes were left over.  I somehow ended up with them.  A couple of women even said, do something fun with it and post it on your blog.

Last night I stared at the baked potatoes and about 1/2 a cup of soaked Tapioca left over from another meal I’d recently made.  Bengali people love to smash things and call it chops or boras.  Smashing foods in the kitchen, I’m in!  I also remembered The Great Leftover Challenge from Danny’s Kitchen, I went to the computer to see if I’d missed the deadline (it’s today)  Here’s what I came up with:

Leftover baked potatoes and tapioca

Shred the potatoes and dump all the ingredients in

Make little patties

Fry until golden brown

Serve with a sauce or chutney and enjoy

Potato and Tapioca Bora

3 baked potatoes, shredded

1/2 cup or so of soaked Tapioca

handful of fresh cilantro, chopped

1 tsp approximately of cumin seeds

1/2 tsp coriander powder

1/2 tsp red chili powder

salt to taste

fresh ground pepper

3 green onions, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, I pressed it through a garlic press to make sure there were no big chunks

Oil for frying

Peel the potatoes and grate them.  Add all the other ingredients and shape them into little patties and fry them in some vegetable oil.  Make sure the oil is hot enough to fry quickly, should take about 4-5 minutes to fry a batch.  I used a little pan with some oil so I didn’t end up with a ton of leftover oil.  I thought about baking them but I knew that it would not have that crunch.  I made some Cilantro chutney as well to use as a sauce.

11 responses »

  1. Am going to see all the recipes at one go – hope I don’t fall ill (have been crazily busy over the weekends). Bora and that too with tapioca – havocly interesting an dperfect for Addas…:)

  2. Pingback: The Great Leftover Challenge: Let the Voting Begin! | Danny's Kitchen

  3. Oh yum! I’ve made something similar before with potatoes, chilis and cilantro. These kinds of patties are so addictive! How was the addition of the tapioca? Did they add to the texture or flavor?

    Kudos for a challenge well done too!

  4. Pingback: Cilantro Chutney « Kolpona Cuisine

Leave a Reply

