Emergency dinner ~ Canned Chicken Veggie Chops

Standard
Emergency dinner ~ Canned Chicken Veggie Chops

I came home at 5 p.m. last night and decided to make 300 sugar cookies and decorate them for Easter Sunday because I thought everyone at church would be delighted by them.  It was a brilliant idea that quickly lost it’s luster.  First, I’ve not actually decorated sugar cookies before, well at home with the kids but not to pass out to people who are not family.  Secondly, what was I thinking?  I often have these crazy ideas and find myself knee-deep in projects of my own making.  Which means, I completely forgot about dinner. I had a sea of cookies cooling on the kitchen counters and about a gallon of royal icing but NOTHING, absolutely nothing to eat for dinner…..Dang it!  I opened my pantry and gazed at the contents in desperation and inspiration struck.  Bengali people love to smash  food.   We call it “Vortha”. Sometimes, we like to smash stuff and then fry it up in oval shapes, we call those “Chops” (I have no idea why, it could have been another desperate cook at dinner time who came up with the name).

So, I found a can of chicken.  I didn’t even know I had such a thing in the pantry.  It wasn’t expired (yay). So I decided to make Chicken and whatever veggie  was in the refrigerator chops.  It was good.  Really good.  I think I’ll actually make them again…..on purpose.

Save me, canned chicken!

Into the drained canned chicken add onion, cilantro, grated Zucchini, chili...

Throw in an egg to bind everything together

Shape into little patties and shallow fry them in a little vegetable oil

Throw in a little garnish and make it look all pretty

I served mine with some quick and easy rice (and a salad)

Here’s the recipe.

1  12.5 ounce can of unexpired chicken breast

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 Serrano Chile, seeded and chopped

Cilantro – chopped, about a handful

1 tsp cumin powder

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 egg

1/2 Zucchini, grated

1/4 cup bread crumbs (helps absorb moisture)

1/2 tsp kosher salt

little vegetable oil for shallow pan frying

Mix everything together and shape into little patties.  Heat a skillet with about a 1/4 cup or less of oil.  Add the patties in the oil and fry until golden brown.  Serve with some rice or in some pita with lettuce, cabbage and fresh tomatoes. Makes 10 patties.

9 responses »

  1. LOL: “12.5 ounce can of unexpired chicken breast”
    Truth be told, I’d probably have used it expired as well.

    When I was young, I spent too many weeks living on rice-a-roni with canned chicken mixed-in… come to think of it, that might be what drove me to being exploring how to do something better. 🙂

    • I’m going to post those cookies tomorrow and maybe the next 10 posts because I don’t think I’ll have time to cook anything else BUT those stupid cookies..LOL

  2. That looks amazing! Sometimes that happens to me too, when I’m starving and overwhelmed and just have to make dinner with something, anything that I have on hand.

    When it turns out well, I feel like one of those reality TV chef contestants!

Leave a Reply

