Pork Chops with Spicy Red Beans

Standard
Pork Chops with Spicy Red Beans

Have you ever read the book “If you give a mouse a cookie…” It was my kid’s favorite book when they were little.  It’s a classic for me as well, you start with one thing and before you know it, it leads to a whole host of other things.  I made Polenta last night because I had some on hand and I didn’t feel like eating rice (gasp!) and once I made the Polenta, well I wanted some Pork chops to go with it and then I wanted a Chocolate dessert….you see where this is headed?  I do like pork chops occasionally.  They are versatile and can be oh so tasty!  I had some red beans on hand and decided to use cumin and coriander as well as a little ginger and garlic to bring out the flavor of the beans and pork chops.  They turned out really tasty and went VERY well with the grilled Polenta.

Ingredients at a glance

Sear the pork chops in a skillet

Saute thinly sliced onions and all the spices for 2-3 minutes

Add chicken broth, tomato paste and red beans and simmer gently

Add the pork chops to the sauce, cover and simmer for about 30 minutes or until chops are tender

Serve with creamy or grilled polenta! hmmmm

Here’s the recipe:

Pork Chops with Spicy Red Beans

3-4 tablespoons vegetable oil

4 pork chops, (I liked the bone in chops)

2 red onions thinly sliced with a Mandolin

3 garlic cloves

1 inch piece of fresh ginger (I always mix my garlic and ginger together in a paste)

2 fresh Serrano Chilis

1 1/2 tsp Cumin seeds

1 1/2 tsp Coriander Powder (that’s the Cilantro seed)

2 1/2 cups of chicken stock (or you can use water if you prefer)

3 tablespoons tomato paste

1 can of red beans (14 ounce size)

Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a large skillet and add the pork chops to the pan to give them a nice sear on both sides.  Set aside.  Add the thinly sliced onions and all the spices except for the tomato paste and stir fry for about 2-3 minutes until onions are tender.  Add in chicken stock and tomato paste and bring to a simmer.  Add in drained and rinsed red beans and simmer an additional minute before placing the pork chops into the sauce.  Cover and simmer gently over medium heat for 30 minutes or until the chops are tender and cooked through.  Goes really well with Savory Herbed Polenta.

4 responses »

  1. I made this today. I didn’t have chicken broth unfortunately so I used water. I think that cut a lot of the flavor out of it. 30 minutes is the perfect amount of time for the pork chops to be done(I used pork steak and it still turned out nicely). Only suggestion if you do use water, add another 1/2 tsp of spices. Very good meal, perfect for a cold day. I’ll be making this again.

  2. Pingback: Savory Herbed Polenta ~ Creamy, Grilled or Sauteed « Kolpona Cuisine

Leave a Reply

